Image

The Lone Shepherd

A lone shepherd takes his sheep for grazing in the dry landscape below Chang La near Leh.

The mountains around Leh are dry with little rain. Whatever rain that falls, runs off quickly due to the rocky terrain. Keeping sheep is a tough business. One has to walk them miles to graze and down into the valleys to drink.

On this day, I had started early from Pangong hoping to get a head start on the ride towards Manali. Crossing over Chang La, I ran out of water. Down below, this herder was walking his sheep on a path that would cross the road. Hurrying down, I timed my way to match his as he cross his road.

I asked for a nearby stream where I could fill my bottle. Rather than pointing me in the direction, he and his two dogs walked me to the stream which was around a few hundred meters back towards the direction he came from. From the hoof marks I could see his sheep also had drank from the same stream. I filled both my bottles, and we walked back talking.

This picture was taken when I was still back up the road and saw him take a path which would intersect our paths ahead.

Technical details: Canon G1X Mk2 | F/8 | 1/320s | ISO160
Date: July 20, 2015 | 1114

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.